top of page


Hello, this page addresses a few of the questions you might have in order to be married in the state of Texas and by the Ordained Minister/Wedding Officiant. 

•The County Clerk's office requires you obtain your marriage license three business days (72 hours) prior to the actual ceremony. For example: if you obtained your marriage license on Monday at 3:32 pm, you may be married on Thursday at 3:33 pm.

•Witnesses are not required by Texas law. 

Age requirements: 

You must be 18 years of age to marry on your own.

If you're between 16 and 18, you must have parental consent or a court order granting permission to marry. If you're younger than 16, you must have a court order granting permission to marry.

Texas is one of the few states that recognize common law marriage.

Under Texas law, common law marriage, also known as informal marriage or marriage without formalities, is a legal way for couples in Texas to get married.

What happens if a marriage license is never turned in Texas?

If your license was never filed and cannot be found, more steps must be taken for the marriage to be recognized legally. You can request a duplicate license, which then needs to be signed again by both spouses and the officiant and submitted to your local County Clerk's office.

What documents do you need to get a marriage license in Texas?

Both applicants must submit proof of age and identity by a certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate, license, or document issued by the state of Texas or another state, the United States, or a foreign government. Each applicant is required to present their social security number (if applicable).

Can I get married on the same day I purchase my marriage license? 

Texas law requires that the marriage ceremony may not be performed during the 72 hours immediately after the marriage license was issued; however, there are certain exceptions to the 72-hour waiting period. 

Does a Texas marriage license expire?

A marriage license is valid for 89 days from the date it is issued. A marriage license expires if it has not been used before the 90th day after it was issued. If a couple wishes to marry after the expiration date, a new license must be purchased.

Can you get married online in Texas?

Marriage license applications may be filled out and saved online. However, applicants must appear in person to sign and purchase the marriage license. Please note: additional information will be required of each applicant when the marriage license is issued.

Do you need an appointment to get a marriage license in Texas?

In Texas, you get a marriage license at a county clerk's office. Most offices require that you schedule an in-person appointment for the engaged couple to meet with a city clerk to obtain the license.

How long does it take to get your marriage certificate back in Texas?

Upon being returned to our office, original Marriage Licenses can take anywhere from 1-2 weeks to be returned to you. If you do not receive the license after that time period, please call the Personal Records Department in the county in which you married.

How fast can I get married in Texas?

There is a 72-hour waiting period from the time a marriage license is issued to the marriage ceremony.

How much does a marriage license cost in Texas?

The marriage license fee is $71.00. With a Twogether in Texas Certificate, the marriage license fee is $11.00. For Twogether in Texas Certificate information, visit the Twogether in Texas website. The Informal Marriage (Common Law) fee is $36.

For more info, check out the Texas state website:

Cancellations/Date & Time Changes/Non-Refundable Retainer Fee

The RETAINER FEE (to hold your date/time) is non-refundable.


Cancellations must be communicated in writing. If written notice of Cancellation of Services is provided by Client at least thirty (30) days prior to the Event date, all fees paid in excess of the Deposit will be refunded. If written notice of Cancellation of Services is provided by Client less than thirty (30) days prior to the Event date, Client shall be responsible for full payment of Services, except for travel fees, if applicable. ")per our written agreement refunds are not given but again as long as availability allows I’d be happy to officiate on your rescheduled date! Remaining balance due 24 hours of ceremony.

In the event of a cancellation, there are no refunds.  
If you postpone and reschedule, then the deposit will 
be applied to the new date if available, however if the Minister On The Run is not available, no refunds will be given.  There is a 25.00 change of date fee, if date is changed at last minute.
In the event of a date or time change for your wedding or rehearsal, 
you must submit the change in writing via email to EMAIL,  
no later than 2 weeks prior to the event and receive a confirmation 
back from me that it was received.  If you do not receive a confirmation, 
then, you must call me by PHONE to verify.  I cannot guarantee my availability 
or the new date and time that is why it is important to submit the changes as soon as possible.  
In the event I am not available you have the choice to stay with your original time, 
find a different time that works for both of us or find a different officiant.  
I can also see if any associates I know are available.  



I'm always looking for new and exciting opportunities. Let's connect.


bottom of page